State Holidays
&
School Terms

State School Terms 2022

TermStart-End
Term 1
  • Friday 28 January to Friday 8 April
  • New students start school on Monday 31 January 2022. Continuing students return to school on Tuesday 1 February 2022.
  • Teachers commence on Friday 28 January 2022 (Pupil free day).
  • Term 1 concludes on Friday 8 April 2022.
Term 2Tuesday 26 April to Friday 1 July 2022
Term 3Monday 18 July to Friday 23 September 2022
Term 4Monday 10 October to Friday 16 December 2022

Source: ACT Government – Education

TermStart-End
Term 1

Eastern division – Friday 28 January – Friday 8 April 2022

Western division – Friday 4 February – Friday 8 April 2022

School Development days – students do not attend
  • Eastern Division – 28 January and 31 January
  • Western Division – 4 February and 7 February
Autumn school holidays

Monday 11 April – Friday 22 April

Term 2

Tuesday 26 April – Friday 1 July

School Development days – students do not attend
  • Tuesday 26 April
 Winter school holidays

Monday 4 July – Friday 15 July

Term 3

Monday 18 July – Friday 23 September

School Development days – students do not attend
  • Monday 18 July
Spring school holidays

Monday 26 September – Friday 7 October

Term 4

Monday 10 October – Tuesday 20 December

School Development days – students do not attend
  • Tuesday 20 December
Summer school holidays
  • Eastern – Wednesday 21 December – Thursday 26 January 2023
  • Western– Wednesday 21 December – Thursday 2 February 2023

Source: NSW Government

TermStart-End
Term 1

Special arrangements for Term 1, 2022

Monday 24 January to Friday 1 April

24 January to 4 February: Supervision for vulnerable students and children of essential workers only.

31 January to 4 February: Year 11 and 12 remote learning

7 February: All Kindy to Year 12 students return to school for formal learning

Term 2Tuesday 19 April to Friday 24 June
Term 3Monday 11 July to Friday 16 September
Term 4Tuesday 4 October to Friday 9 December

Source: Queensland Government – Education

TermStart-End
Term 131 January to 14 April 2022
Term 22 May to 8 July 2022
Term 325 July to 30 September 2022
Term 417 October to 16 December 2022

Australia – Department for Education

TermStart-End
Term 1

Schools  9 February – 13 April

(NOTE: 14 April is a Student Free Day for Kindergarten to Year 10)

Colleges 9 February – 14 April

Break 15 April – 1 May

Term 2

Schools  2 May – 8 July

Colleges 2 May – 8 July

Break  9 July – 24 July

Term 3

Schools  26 July – 30 September

Colleges 25 July – 30 September

Break 1 October – 16 October

Term 4

Schools  17 October – 21 December

Colleges 17 October – Written exams commence 8 November

Source: Tasmania – Department of Education

TermStart-End
Term 1Mon 31 January – Fri 8 April 2022
Term 2Tue 26 April – Fri 1 July 2022
Term 3Mon 18 July – Fri 23 September 2022
Term 4Mon 10 October – Thu 15 December 2022

Source: Western Australia – Department of Education

TermStart-End
Term 1

Friday 28 January to Friday 8 April 2022

The first day of term 1 is a student-free day.

Students start 31 January.

Term 226 April to 24 June 2022
Term 311 July to 16 September 2022
Term 43 October – 20 December 2022

Source: Victoria Government – Education

State Holidays 2022

Public Holiday – 2022 Dates to be observed
New Year’s Day Saturday, 1 January 2022 and Monday, 3 January 2022*
Australia Day Wednesday, 26 January 2022
Canberra Day Monday, 14 March 2022
Good Friday Friday, 15 April 2022
Easter Saturday Saturday, 16 April 2022
Easter Sunday Sunday, 17 April 2022
Easter Monday Monday, 18 April 2022
ANZAC Day Monday, 25 April 2022
Reconciliation Day Monday, 30 May 2022
Queen’s Birthday Monday, 13 June 2022
Labour Day Monday, 3 October 2022
Christmas Day Sunday, 25 December 2022 and Tuesday, 27 December 2022
Boxing Day Monday, 26 December 2022
Source: ACT Government – Education
Public holiday 2022 Days observed
New Year’s Day Saturday, 1 January
Additional Day Monday, 3 January
Australia Day Wednesday, 26 January
Good Friday Friday, 15 April
Easter Saturday – the Saturday following Good Friday Saturday, 16 April
Easter Sunday Sunday, 17 April
Easter Monday Monday, 18 April
Anzac Day Monday, 25 April
Queen’s Birthday Monday, 13 June
Bank Holiday Monday, 1 August
Labour Day Monday, 3 October
Christmas Day public holiday Sunday, 25 December
Additional Day Monday, 27 December
Boxing Day Monday, 26 December
  Source: NSW Government
Holiday2022
New Year’s DaySaturday 1 January and Monday 3 January
Australia DayWednesday 26 January
Good FridayFriday 15 April
The day after Good FridaySaturday 16 April
Easter SundaySunday 17 April
Easter MondayMonday 18 April
Anzac DayMonday 25 April
Labour DayMonday 2 May

Royal Queensland Show (Brisbane area only)

Wednesday 10 August
Queen’s BirthdayMonday 3 October
Christmas Eve (24 December) 6pm–MidnightSaturday 24 December
Christmas DaySunday 25 December and Tuesday 27 December
Boxing DayMonday 26 December

Source: Queensland Government

Holiday and date2022
New Year’s Day
1 January
Monday
3 January

Australia Day

Wednesday
26 January
Adelaide Cup Day
second Monday in March
Monday
14 March
Good Friday
varies with the lunar cycle
Friday
15 April
Easter Saturday
varies with the lunar cycle
Saturday
16 April
Easter Monday
varies with the lunar cycle
Monday
18 April
School Holidays – Term 115 April-1 May
Anzac DayMonday
25 April
Queen’s Birthday /
Volunteer’s Day

second Monday in June
Monday
13 June
School Holidays – Term 29-24 July
School Holidays – Term 31-16 October
Labour Day
first Monday in October
Monday
3 October
School Holidays – Term 417 December-29 January
Christmas Eve
24 DecemberPart-day public holiday
Saturday
24 December7pm-midnight
Christmas Day
25 December
Monday 26 December
Boxing Day /
Proclamation Day

26 December
Tuesday
27 December
New Year’s Eve
31 DecemberPart-day public holiday
Saturday
31 December7pm-midnight

Source: South Australia Government

Date Holiday date observed
Sat 1 Jan New Year’s Day
Mon 3 Jan New Year Holiday
Wed 5 Jan Devonport Cup
Wed 26 Jan Australia Day
Mon14 Feb Royal Hobart Regatta
Wed 23 Feb Launceston Cup
Tue 1 Mar King Island Show
Mon 14 Mar Eight Hours Day
Fri 15 Apr Good Friday
Mon 18 Apr Easter Monday
Tue 19 Apr Easter Tuesday *
Mon 25 Apr Anzac Day
Fri 6 May AGFEST
Mon 13 Jun Queen’s Birthday
Fri 30 Sep Burnie Show
Thu 6 Oct Royal Launceston Show
Fri 14 Oct Flinders Island Show
Thu 20 Oct Royal Hobart Show
Mon 7 Nov Recreation Day
Fri 25 Nov Devonport Show
Sun 25 Dec Christmas Day
Mon 26 Dec Boxing Day
Tue 27 Dec Christmas Holiday
Source: Tasmania Government
Public Holidays 2022
New Year’s Day Saturday 1 January & Monday 3 January
Australia Day Wednesday 26 January
Labour Day Monday 7 March
Good Friday Friday 15 April
Easter Sunday Sunday 17 April
Easter Monday Monday 18 April
Anzac Day Monday 25 April
Western Australia Day Monday 6 June
Queen’s Birthday Monday 26 September
Christmas Day Sunday 25 December & Monday 26 December
Boxing Day Monday 26 December & Tuesday 27 December
Source: Western Australian Government
Holiday Date in 2022
New Year’s Day Saturday 1 January Monday 3 January
Australia Day Wednesday 26 January
Labour Day Monday 14 March
Good Friday Friday 15 April
Saturday before Easter Sunday Saturday 16 April
Easter Sunday Sunday 17 April
Easter Monday Monday 18 April
Anzac Day Monday 25 April
Queen’s Birthday Monday 13 June
Friday before the AFL Grand Final Subject to AFL schedule
Melbourne Cup Tuesday 1 November
Christmas Day Sunday 25 December Tuesday 27 December
Boxing Day Monday 26 December
Source: Victorian Government